Marty and Mike

English: Walt Disney, left, and Wernher von Br...

English: Walt Disney, left, and Wernher von Braun, right. Dr. Werhner von Braun, then Chief, Guided Missile Development Operation Division at Army Ballistic Missile Agency (ABMA) in Redstone Arsenal, Alabama, was visited by Walt Disney in 1954. In the 1950’s, von Braun worked with Disney Studio as a technical director, making three films about space exploration for television. A model of the V-2 rocket is in background. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Year 2013, here we are. Two ambiguous personalities with their sins partially confessed. Let me put it this way:

The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

Emotionally I like the two. They have come forward and are trying to correct the cult’s overts now. The Anonymous slogan is “we do not forgive, we do not forget”. First of all I do not belong to this group. What I would rather like to propose here is that we should forgive them. It is not conducive to live in the past. Accept the present time and go with it creating something better for the future.
Marty and Mike … maybe I should call them the Wernher von Braun brothers.
We must forgive, we must forget.

The two cannot devalue their lives entirely. So they justify their lives and try to find a compromise by blaming Miscavige. What can I say? They were a part of it and even worse they created the monster they are now fighting against.

Why am I saying this?
I myself am struggling with the same question since months. My ex-wife destroyed our family by believing the cult more than any black on white evidence. She told me I had evil thoughts that would cause all illnesses in her environment – kind of voodoo magic power. In her eyes there was no doubt she could ever be wrong. I was the sorcerer whereas Hubbard and Miscavige were the messengers of god.
According to the PTS/SP material self-criticism is a luxury that an SP cannot afford. What was the point in studying such? There are so many practical ideas you could easily apply on the cult itself.
Can my ex-wife ever reach a state where she could take responsibility for her actions or will she find excuses until doomsday?
My question is a different one. Does this discussion lead us anywhere? No, it does not!
For the sake of the future of my children there is no other way than to forgive and forget. It hurts, but it is the right thing to do. Grace of charity, finally I partially understand the idea. It is not taught in Scientology. Only hate and paranoia are taught. Yes, there are some references about grace of charity, but you have to search very hard for them and they are not practised at all!

Marty Rathbun is not a bad guy anymore it seems. I am sure he can be a good friend. He is open with criticism and lets everyone mention his/her opinion. He even cites his critics openly and does not avoid links to other web pages that are actually not in his favour. Marty’s writing style has changed in the last couple of weeks. I have to admit his blog has overall become weird and boring. Obviously there is a change going on. And his cautious stance to LRH’s dogmas becomes more and more visible.

Mike Rinder – oh – I remember him standing in front of me in a conference room at Saint Hill with “Psych buster” packs. He seemed to be very desperate and tried to sell the packs, but he CLEARLY was not convinced himself. It was the first time I felt some sympathy for him. Something was going on on that day. I knew selling the packs was wrong, he most likely knew it as well.
His blogs http://www.mikerindersblog.org/ is a good central point for information regarding the cult of Scientology. Sometimes a bit biased, but all in all it fulfills its purpose.

Anyway, let us accept the Wernher von Braun brothers as they are.
Do not cast the first stone!
Support them in the fight against the cult!
That way we all can win!

One thought on “Marty and Mike

  1. Good thoughts! And a very suitable photo, too.

    I’ve been thinking of Marty Rathbun as a kind of Albert Speer figure. Obviously there’s no way to rewrite or rethink history so as to erase his crucial role in a very nasty enterprise. But neither can you ignore the unique role he has played since then. This makes it very hard to form a single, unified judgment. Fortunately, it is not our job to be judges.

    One of Speer’s biographers gave her book the subtitle, “His Battle With the Truth.” Another, the eminent historian Joachim Fest, suggested that we hold on to the thought that Speer was the ONLY leader of the Third Reich to have accepted responsibility for his actions. Question his motives, doubt his sincerity, fine. But that one fact remains.

    Marty’s case is not as extreme or dramatic, but I think the same general principle ought to apply.

Leave a Reply

